Skip to content

Holidays with Baby

January 13, 2014

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Em and Scotty SP-022

I have no complaints about the holidays. Only that they went by too fast! Oh, there was there was the unnecessary stress I added myself, trying to squeeze in just one more do-it-yourself project. But that happens every year. And honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Of course, this year was especially fun, having Iris to join in the fun. Of course I was determined to make her a Christmas dress. It wasn’t cheaper. It wasn’t easier, but once I had the idea in my head, there was no turning back. Then I realized she wore the dress for all of 2 or 3 hours, and I didn’t even get a picture of her in it! Ha! Joke is on me this time. So I decided to fake a little photo shoot of her in the dress I made, as well as the striped hat I tried to crank out on Christmas eve. She wasn’t too happy about modeling, but the pictures give you a basic idea of both how the items look, as well as how crabby she gets around 4:30 each evening. I’m afraid this is just the beginning of Mama parading you around in handmade things, I hate to tell you sweet Iris.

The hat is THIS one, from the Petite Purls website. I love how to stripes turned out!

The little red coat the “Baby duffle Coat” by Debbie Bliss. Remember when I knit it, while pregnant? It still is a bit big, but I think it will fit this spring, and maybe even into next fall too! Wouldn’t that be great? I love that red looks equally good on little girls, and little boys. I’m hoping this coat will get passed on to many other babies, and hopefully tucked away in a cedar chest.

The dress was based  a simple one she had in her closet. It was a little tricky to reverse engineer, as I’m not super experienced with sewing clothing.  I’m excited to try some more things for Iris as she gets older. I have many idea that I want to sew for her, and so little time!

The weekend before Christmas, Mark and I got a chance to go on a fancy date, which also happened to be the wedding of our dear friend, Emily.  Emily lost her husband a few years ago. Our knitting group, the ” Knitch” saw her walk through a really difficult time before, during, and after the loss of her beloved Chris. We prayed, and hoped that this day would come, for her to marry again, have a partner again, and have another parent for her little Erika again. When she met Scotty, and later became engaged, we knew it would be an amazing celebration. And oh, it was. An emotional , sweet, perfect day. Emily even chose the very space that we knitters gather every year for our fall get away, the Pond View Lodge. This lodge is a sacred space for us girls. We’ve had our biggest laughs, and some of our biggest tears together in that place. The picture of all of us together on Em’s wedding day, in that very space, is so special to us.  These 7 girls are heaven on earth to me. Oh, and did I mention, she KNIT her dress.  You can pick your jaw back up from the ground now.

So, what’s on the agenda for 2014? More knitting of course. I am always wanting to do more original knitting, more designing. Maybe this will be the year? More watching my sweet baby grow.  I love fresh starts. Don’t you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2014 4:38 pm

    I love that hat!

  2. January 14, 2014 8:12 am

    Love this! And love you! Iris is a little dolly–and she looks even cuter in her handmade wardrobe! Miss you!

  3. January 14, 2014 2:38 pm

    OH MY IRIS! Could she get any cuter! I mean, come on?! The christmas morning pic, priceless!!! :) I LOVE! :) And i love her knitted wear, she is always just such a great model! :) LOVE YOU and your amazing creativity! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

