Skip to content

Humble beginnings

September 13, 2010

Here it is, my first blogged, hand made item. It’s nothing ground breaking, but I thought it would be a fitting project to start off my blog-land adventure. I’ll explain why in a minute.

I’ve been wanting to keep a record of what I make  for a long, long time. One of my earliest memories probably involves gluing popsicle  sticks together, or slathering something with tempera paint. Not much as changed , except for maybe some higher quality materials. I am hoping that this  medium  allows me a space to reflect on my progress, and process. I am not specifically a knitter, a sewer, a painter, or a crafter, even though I’d be proud to be considered any of those things, or welcomed into any of those communities.  My hope is that a little bit of everything will trickle onto this blog.  Maybe it could be something interesting to read for a fellow “maker”. Maybe only our cat will read it, I wouldn’t put it past her. I think she’s smarter than she lets on…

Back to the blanket. It’s for a very special new person in my extended family. Something I love about making a gift by hand is how you can communicate with it. It’s just a blanket, you could probably buy something similar at the Baby Gap. In Fact, I’m sure this little guy probably has a closet full of blankets waiting for him at home. He has a big sister that came before him after all. But this one is different. Because with every stitch I thought of this little person. Hoping that my humble little attempt at textile art will somehow let him know how happy I am to be an auntie.  Totally unnecessary, but also, complete necessary . Does that make any sense?  If you think so, you might be just the reader I’m looking for.

Here’s to the begining of a journal for ” the sake of making”.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim Peterson permalink
    September 13, 2010 10:38 pm

    Devs this made me a little teary eyed!! I love how excited you get when you explain or show us your new creative projects!!

  2. September 13, 2010 11:24 pm

    I’m so with you! Crafty time is a wonderful prayer time, and I love to think of people wrapped up in my prayers and love (as sappy as that is! 🙂 )

    One of my favorite memories from WAY back is when you and Avery had back to back birthday parties and we all sat downstairs and made clay figures that your mom fired up while we ate cake. You have a great history of being a very crafty girl!

    I look forward to seeing your projects and progress!!

    -Britt

  3. Bethany permalink
    September 14, 2010 4:55 pm

    YAY Dev! Blanket looks awesome and I’m so excited for you and your blog!

  4. September 14, 2010 10:40 pm

    Tony left your blog on the computer last night and this morning I read it. First thought–great writer. Second thought–I like the header. Third thought–I’m totally the reader she is looking for! Tonight, Tony casually mentioned that it was you. gasp. Love it!!!! Thanks for sharing with us your makings.

  5. Tonee permalink
    September 19, 2010 1:33 pm

    Loved your blog and ADORE the blanket!!!

  6. Anna Wicks permalink
    September 19, 2010 9:31 pm

    Devin — LOVE the blanket! Love the color, love the cable. Very cool blog. I dig.

  7. Tammy permalink
    June 9, 2012 9:17 am

    Hello, I love the baby blanket and the knitted tea cozy you showed on your website. Can you point me in the direction of getting those two patterns? I have already downloaded your washcloth. thank you very much. I would have e-mailed you, but couldn’t find your email. Mine is needlesandpearls@aol.com

Leave a Reply

