Skip to content

Knitting Season

September 19, 2010

I guess the only thing I feel like doing is knitting. This happens every year, the first  crisp day of fall comes, and my knitterly instinct kick in. All summer I literally had to force myself to finish things.  But now a sense of urgency is here. MUST be cozy, MUST have a new hat! And that’s what I did, I knit myself a new hat.

I’ve had  “knitted hat with brim” on my to do list for a year or so. I hadn’t found the right pattern, so I hadn’t done it. The brim was the part that had to be juuuust right. I finally caved and bought this pattern online. If any of you try this pattern, check your gauge; I felt like the sizing ran reallllly big. I knit the child size, with a lot of modifications, and I have a gigantic melon.

The construction on the bill is really cool. You pick up stiches after the knit the rest of the hat, and lots of crazy shaping with short rows. I Love when you figure out how to knit something you’ve only seen in store-bought items. You know? It’s kinda like stickin it to the man. I don’t have to BUY your brimmed hat, I shall just make one of my own! Here is are a few pictures in progess.

Just looking at this hat, I can smell Apple cider and leaves.  I know some people think fall is tainted by the fact that winter comes immdeidately after. I try not to let that bother me. I can’t get enough of wearing layers, cooking chilli, knitting warm things to wear, and so on and so forth.

This has nothing to do with making stuff, but my sister surprised me with a bouquet of flowers from the Mpls farmers market on Thursday. Just because I had a rough day at work the day before. Nothing terrible, just one of those days where you feel you earned every since penny in your paycheck. Wasn’t that nice?

More in the theme of making stuff,  my hubster and I crafted this little number for dinner Friday night while I finished up the hat. I got the recipe from Real Simple . I get a little giddy when I get the mail out of our little  mail box and a new Real Simps issue in in there.  The recipes in there are sooo… how do you say? Um, simple? They generally use very few ingredients which is awesomely doable.

P.S. I am so happy that our pet cat isn’t my only reader! I am humbled, and hope that this second post didn’t blow it! I hope to have a little more variety in artistic/craftistic media, But it is knitting season, so all you non knitters, hold tight. Happy Fall!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim Peterson permalink
    September 19, 2010 9:41 pm

    Thanks Dev, now i want chili AND pizza!!! I love the hat, LeAna bought one similar at AE last week that cost a ton and is missing the character you add to it

  2. jessica Gensmer permalink
    September 19, 2010 9:52 pm

    LOVE love that hat! i need to buy one from you…i’ve been intending to buy one since last year when i borrowed that one from you and we decided i’d wear more hats.

    That food looks super nummy! i ❤ real simple.

    Purty flowers! i wish i had a sister!

  3. Bethany permalink
    September 19, 2010 11:39 pm

    love the hat Dev 🙂 It’s supes cute. And I must confess…I bought a partially knitted/partially crocheted hat w/ brim…from a store…Definitely thought of you and that you were talking about making one…but I wanted to put that one on and walk out of the store with it on! I like the earthy yarn of yours though! Hope you have a great day, or even week of work this week 🙂 Lata!

  4. Marisa permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:29 am

    Your hat turned out awesome! So trendy. And now I am also craving a sweet potato pizza…

  5. Lori Madden permalink
    September 22, 2010 11:45 am

    Devin, I love the hat on you! Awesome yarn what is it and what color is it? Keep up the good work on the blog, fun to read. I have the fall knitting Bug too, just finished a shrug for a baby gift.

  6. September 23, 2010 11:36 pm

    I love that hat and I LOVE YOU! 🙂

  7. Erin Anderson permalink
    September 27, 2010 2:27 pm

    Hi Devin! Your blog popped up on facebook (of course…) and I just love it! This hat is outstanding, and I loved the green blanket too!!! I can’t wait ’til I have more time to make things! Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

