Skip to content

Getting the sea legs back

September 26, 2010

A goal of mine lately is to paint more. When I was in school I painted so often, but now it takes serious will power to get going on a new painting. My dear friend Emily  ( of the amazing Emily Steffen photography) wrote a blog about “chosing to cheat”. She said it much more eloquently , but basically there are always things to be done that seem more urgent like clean the house, do laundry, etc, but sometime you just have to “cheat” and put the chores last and just make something. I have a really hard time doing that.  Conveniently, a co-worker asked me to paint her sisters dog as a Christmas gift, and I used it as the perfect excuse to put painting back into the making rotation.  Here are some in progress pictures…

And the final product

Speaking of dogs, we had some visitors at the bungalow this weekend….

My parents were away for the night celebrating their 30th anniversary ( can you believe it?) so we had “the lads” as my dad calls them. They were a ton of fun, and we spoiled them rotten by letting them hang out on my white couch, and sleep in our bed. However our feline friend was less than thrilled. She is still angry at us I think. I wish I had a picture of the stink eye she gave us all weekend.

In bungalow news, my dear sweet hubster found the deal of the century on freecycle. Bear in mind, I had just given him a hard time about accumulating one too storage shelves in need of TLC. But not only did he redeem himself but knocked one out of the park with this gem.

Yes, that is an authentic craftsman style built in cabinet ( that had been ripped out) that someone was GIVING AWAY. For FREE!! Can you believe it? When we bought our house we loved that it was both old and had been updated mechanically, but were a little bummed that some of the built-ins that craftsmen bungalows are known for had most likely been removed somewhere along the line. I’ve seen similar salvaged pieces going for hundred of dollars , easy.

I’ve got a couple more items in the pipeline that I’m excited to share soon. I’m going to try and update this more often so I can focus on one or two things at a time. Just a hint, There are some sewing/stitching project in the works!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 10:56 pm

    ARE YOU KIDDING ME WITH THAT SHELF??!?!?! I totally want one! 🙂 High fives to Mark for scoring such a find! 🙂 Sounds like a fab weekend with the Joestings! 🙂 (oh—and thanks for the mention! 🙂

  2. Mel Hargens permalink
    September 28, 2010 10:37 pm

    I love your blog, Devin!!! I know what you mean about built ins in older homes. I guarantee that the built ins are what sold me when we looked at our house. I am so thankful that no one REMODELED in our house. Keep the comments coming!!! Tell Mr Mark HI!!!

  3. November 17, 2010 6:18 am

    Great Blog Dev! I love the pics (especially the one of “The Lads” hey are such hams! Love you lots and lots

Leave a Reply

