Skip to content

The Knitch

October 18, 2010

About two years ago, my  friend Emily thought it would be fun to start a knitting group.     Usually when I tell non-knitters that I am in a knitting group, I get a look of pity, as if to say

” You really need a life, Devin”.

But then I interject, ” And we drink wine at our meetings!”

to which they reply ” ohhh! That sounds like fun!”

But I would be lying if I said the most meaningful part of the “Knitch” is the wine. Yes, we love wine, and it probably helps the conversations flow, but over the last two years we have become dear friends. I remember thinking before my first time at the Knitch that I would just show up because of the two girls I already knew, I probably wouldn’t get that attached to the other women.

It seems no sooner had I said that to myself, I was crying with joy to find out an adoption was making one of us a mother, laughing until tears streamed down my face  as another told us embarrassing stories from her teenage years, and grieving with another over the loss of loved ones. In These two short years some of us have launched careers, quit jobs,  gained a spouse, or gained a child, been fortunate,  and been broke. One could say we put  the girls in that traveling pants movie to shame! This past weekend we spent a heavenly three days away at this beautiful place

to do a little of this..

A little of this

Took a little stroll through this

Tried to capture a group picture by balancing a camera  like this..

and produced a whole lot of this…

I stole this next picture from my fellow knitter/professional photographer friend, Mizz Emily Steffen, whose beautifully photographed, beautifully worded account of the weekend can be found here.  Every time I look at this picture, I can’t believe how something as simple as knitting has introduced me to such amazing company.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany permalink
    October 18, 2010 11:04 pm

    Glad you had fun Dev! Looks like you really found your… um.. niche! 🙂

  2. October 19, 2010 12:14 am

    Killer iPhone photos Dev!!! 🙂 I love your photos and your words! I think we all find ourselves interjecting with the “buuut we drink wine too”!!!

    I love our group and i love your blog post. 🙂

  3. Emily Drager permalink
    October 19, 2010 7:50 am

    Lovely – and I’m so happy to be a part of this splendid group!

  4. Gina permalink
    October 19, 2010 9:03 am

    Love these memories!! I’m already excited for next year, and I’m so glad you put this up:)

  5. August 6, 2014 10:12 am

    Demais!

Leave a Reply

