Skip to content

Don’t let “It” happen

October 26, 2010

So it’s that time of year. I am already feeling behind on Christmas gifts. No, not Christmas shopping, I mean making christmas gifts. I’d like to explain that I don’t make ALL my Christmas gifts, but I usually want to make a fair share of them. I know that anyone on the receiving end  would say not to stress about it, but it becomes so much more than just checking a person off my Christmas list, it becomes a battle of sheer will and determination.

It starts as soon as the air gets cooler,  the wheels start turning.  It is then that I am reminded of this book. She has a full chapter on when “IT” happens, and I can’t say enough good things about her writing.  She hilariously describes the process that a lot of knitters go through around christmas, from happily planning your ambitious list of knitted christmas gifts, to calculating how many “knitting hours” you have available, and upon realization that you surely don’t have time to knit even half of your list in the given time, you continue on anyway, skipping meals, sleep, and social functions to knit that last pair of socks.   IT  is when you have sacrificed every last bit of holiday cheer for knitting time. The thing about  IT  is that you swear every year, you won’t let  IT happen again.

Well, in my best attempt to avoid  IT , I have started brain storming store-bought gifts that will take the pressure off. Unfortunately, I also start meandering into yarn and fabrics stores to start picking up supplies from my handmade gifts. I can do some serious damage in any store that sells anything by the yard or skein. I am lucky to have a spouse that is supportive and understanding ( and happens to request hand knit socks, which only encourages the development of  IT . Look what just jumped right off the bolt/shelf this weekend, and into my possession?

opps!

To add to my developing  IT , is the fact, that I also have a million several projects going that have nothing to do with gifts. birthdays, or anything urgent at all. I justify this by saying that these side projects keep me sane, and remind me why I love making things in the first place . I can only hope this is true! here is a current list of non-essential projects I have going

– needle point pillows for my living room

– hand knit stockings for every creature residing in my house, including this creature

-two more brimmed hats, not intended for Christmas gifts, but just-because gifts, oy vay!

-a light weight scarf out of anna maria fabric, for myself

-a pretty curtain for our attic bedroom

– there are more I can’t think of at the moment I’m sure. Wish me luck!

And don’t let  IT  happen to you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim Peterson permalink
    October 26, 2010 10:34 pm

    Great Devs now I totally have IT!!!!!!!!!

  2. October 26, 2010 10:34 pm

    OH Devin, so true…oh so true. My ambition list is already starting to feel like a headache when I realize I’ve only gotten 2 things done in the matter of 3 weeks of attempting to knit. Well…here’s to this Christmas season and not letting IT happen! 🙂

  3. Avery permalink
    October 27, 2010 8:47 am

    I’m lovin June’s glamour shot.

Leave a Reply

