Skip to content

Snowed in!

November 15, 2010

Well, sort of snowed in. I’m sure I COULD have gone out of the house on Saturday, but what is the point, when it is so warm and cozy and I have oddles of knitting on my Christmas list?

I may or may not have visited a yarn store on sunday. The weather might have inspired the color choices…

This little vignette is a wee something  with a raglan sleeve, with chunky yarn and big needles. Just what I need to keep “IT ” at bay.

The hard part about this time of year is that so many of my projects are top secret Christmas gifts. Remember when I talked about “IT” happening?  a classic middle stage of  IT is when I start getting overconfident on my knitted gifts, and start * gasp* ADDING to the list. It starts pretty innocent. I cast on an adorable little something for a wee one on my list. Before you know it, I start thinking ” wouldn’t it be adorable to make this sweet little knitted item for ALL the wee ones on my list? This is where is gets dangerous. Before you know it, I’m adding a little something for myself on the list too. Oy Vay!

I haven’t been strickly knitting though. There has been some sewing going on too. I picked up this handy little bias tape maker ( Bias tape is a type of edging used on a lot of sewn things, and this little gadget makes it possible to use your own fabric, and create your own edging with a bit more ease.

The device in question is that little metal thing in the upper left corner. The large item in the middle of the photo is what some call an iron. I rarely use it for my own clothing, it really only makes an appearance for sewing. What that says about my wardrobe, and dedication to dressing my best, I’m not sure.

Luckily for me, this Thursday we had our bi-weekly knitting night, the Kitch at my house. Nothing takes the edge off  holiday knitting like a little wine and good company, right?  I think there is also a high correlation to knitting under the influence and dropped stitches, but it’s a fine line my friends, a fine line.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 7:28 am

    There is a fine line between the wine intake and the perfection of knitting. A very fine line! 🙂 I looooove your blog posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

