Skip to content

a place for everything

November 23, 2010

Most husbands make their wives happy with flowers, chocolate, etc. My husband knows how to keep his wife happy. He brings home a free box of knitting needles. ( make no mistake, I love flowers and chocolate too. Especially when accompanied  with a glass of wine and uninterrupted knitting time while  Mark rubs my feet, but that might be a lot to ask on a daily basis, no?)

I know, heaven for you knitters, right? Well, the problem is my knitting needle collection is a bit of out control. Everytime I start a project I tear apart the house, flipping up couch cushions in a sad attempt to find that forth doubled pointed needles, only to knit a test swatch to find out what I actually need is a smaller size, and a circular.

There has to be a better way, right?  Everytime I grabbed a circular needle, I felt like I was playing  barrell of monkeys, and not in a fun way.

Those that know me , know I am not the most organized person by nature. I may appear organized in some ways, but if you happen to witness any organization on my part, I probably worked really hard to get that way! So I put aside the list of christmas gifts to make ( which I am making serious progress at, but overconfidence is one of the warning signs of IT. *ehem*) and made myself some knitting needle “rolls”.

when I need a certain size, I just open up the striped one for circulars, and the light blue one for double pointed.  I didn’t make one for straight needles, becase I’ve found that there aren’t any project that I can’t use circulars for instead. Plus, I don’t whack my husband/sister/friend in the face when I am knitting next to them with those long straight needles!

I also labeled each pocket with a number to make it even easier. I cut those numbers out of a piece of of lightweight cotton fabric with some fusible interfacing.

for the circulars, I can Four rows of pockets.  One for each of the 3 lengths they come in, and pocket for the interchangeable set that my sweet, sweet husband bought me last year. I lOOOVE my interchangeable set, The purple connector cable is very flexible, and the prices are good over at Knit Picks.

So how does one reward her sweet husband for fueling her addiction hobby ? Why, make him something of course!  ( I never said It was knitted though..) 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 9:58 am

    These are perfect! I need to make myself a circular set now! 🙂 LOOOOOOVE your sewing skilllz friend! 🙂

  2. Marisa permalink
    November 24, 2010 11:11 am

    Wow Devin – this is SERIOUSLY impressive!

Leave a Reply

