Skip to content

To my Love, on his birthday

November 30, 2010

The magical  thing about making things, is when you get to turn this…

Into this…

The vest that is.  A Birthday gift to my dapper husband. It was my first attempt sewing a clothing item from a pattern, and if I do say so myself, it was both terrifying and addicting. Mark was actually gifted this item a few days ago, because in a moment of panic, I needed to try it on him to make sure it fit. Imagine my relief when it fit perfectly! This one if made of linen and cotton, but I also bought  some nice wool to make him another.

my favorite part is the back buckle.

Ahh… I love how linen is so wrinkly, and gets softer with every wash.  I also conquered a skill I have been avoiding ever since I’ve learned to use a sewing machine. BUTTON HOLES! I wasn’t feeling confident with my machine, as it has refused to do even a zigzag lately, for some mysterious reason. So I Used my mom’s machine. Turns out it’s not that hard, as long as you read the manual and practice practice practice on scrap fabrics! Nothing like finishing a project with expensive fabric, and lots of hours invested, only to ruin it with wonkey button holes! Here is a picture of my big accomplishment, not perfect, but I was on cloud nine when I finally figured it out.

But back to the real excitement of the day. Tomorrow I celebrate the birth of an amazing husband, friend, teacher, etc. I’m so lucky to have a partner in life that I can share so many of my passions with. He is so patient and supportive of all my creative endevors, and  is also a maker/artist/musician himself!  Not to mention, he humors me by wearing/using so many handmade items I’ve made him in the 5 years I’ve known him. Life with him is truly a beautiful  colaboration in all sense of the word. Happy Birthday my Love!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany permalink
    November 30, 2010 11:57 pm

    Dev. The vest is awesome! Mark looks so proud! Love it so much. Congrats on the button-hole as well 🙂

  2. Avery permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:24 am

    saweeet. Now I think Mals needs a matching one. (no pres)

  3. Marisa permalink
    December 1, 2010 10:11 am

    SO perfect! And impressive as always.

  4. December 2, 2010 9:59 pm

    That is marvelous! When can I stop by to be measured?

  5. March 17, 2011 8:19 am

    Something tells me when looking at this once again….this wasn’t an easy project….

Leave a Reply

