Skip to content

REALLY snowed in!

December 11, 2010

I feel silly for using the title ” snowed in” for a post a while ago, becuase everyone in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area ( and probably many more areas) are literally snowed in today.

this is what  happens when you are missing a storm window in your porch whoopps! lessons learned!

Many airports and roads are closed, or should be. I just saw a guy, walking down the middle of our street with full snowgear on, and a walking stick. He looks like he is climbing Mt. Everest!  I don’t mean to make light of the fact that weather like this can pose problems to those in need of medical help, food, etc. Here’s to hoping that everyone reading this is safe and warm somewhere. So that being said, what better time to settle in and write a blog post, hoping that I may have a captive audience!

Today I am trying something new, a tutorial! It seemed appropriate to show a how-to for a homemade heat pack. I have used mine to warm up the sheets before I hop in on a cold night , warming up my feet while I lounge on the couch,  or  while resting sore muscles, especially those back and stomach pains associated with being a female of child bearing age, *ahem*.  My old one that I made year ago was kinda ugly, and made with feed corn ( my new one is made with rice). I figure, why not make a pretty one with cute fabric?

you will need  – two pieces of adorable, cotton fabric, 8″ by 16″ Upolstery weight is nice and sturdy.

– 5-6 cups or rice ( the amount is pretty flexible)

– a sewing machine ( or you can sew by hand is you are really adventurous) and thread

1. cut out your two pieces of fabric

2. place wrong sides together and pin around edges. Sew three of the sides together, leaving one of the shorter sides open.

3. turn inside out and fill with 5-6 cups or regular rice. I’ve heard jasmine rice smells really nice, I am too cheap for that, so I just used regular long grain rice. I’m sure you could just use a bit of jasmine with regular rice too.

4. fold the raw edges inward an inch or so, and sew shut the open end, remembering to backstitch on each end to ensure the rice doesn’t spill out! I sewed two lines of stiches, once again, for durabilty’s sake.

If you want to be able to wash your heat pack cover, I sugget making a washable “pillow case” out of cute fabric, and using something plain for the heat pack itself, since no one will see it. If I feel the need to wash it, I will probably just use a seam ripper, rip out a few inches of my last seams, dump rice out, wash cover, dump rice back in with funnel, and sew it shut again. It’s really up to you and how ambitious you want to be.

5. heat about 2-3 minutes in your microwave. experiment with the times, because these puppies can get really hot, and if you heat it too long  an unpleasant, overcooked rice smell will occur, so don’t over due it. The rice will hold the heat for an hour or more.  Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bethany permalink
    December 11, 2010 6:49 pm

    What a cozy snow-ed in day 🙂 I want to make one of those heat packs! Thanks for the tutorial!

Leave a Reply

