Skip to content

drum roll please….

January 1, 2011

Finally, I can show you what I was working on all this time. get ready, It’s a long one with lots o’ pictures! Everyone loves pictures, right?

I’ll start with what may be the most high pitched squeal-inducing. It’s the baby sophisticate sweater.

This was for our newest nephew, Evan. There is just something about this design. I love baby boy clothes that make them look like little gentlemen. Sweater vests, tiny peacoats, driving caps, teensy button up shirts, I just love it! An added bonus of this pattern, is that it is free! Just click the link above the photo. It is a top down design, which means little to no seaming at the end, and it is super simple and quick to make. My one word of warning is that it runs quite small. I’d suggest making the larger of the two sizes.

Onto the Mademoiselle Beret and fingerless gloves. These were made for our 5 year old niece Ella. I am bummed I didn’t bring my camera when we opened gifts, because Ella is quite the model!

This is my own pattern, but I don’t have it written down yet. I’ve been really meaning to get some patterns in writting, and post them here, but writting a pattern is a lot of work people! And over the last month, if I sat down to write out a pattern, I usually remembered how much actually Christmas knitting needed to get done, and the knitting won out! Let me know if any of these patterns are ones you’d be interested in, and I’ll make them a priority.

Another hot item that is been requested alot from family and friends , is a pair of fingerless gloves. This chocolate brown pair when to my Auntie Jodi!

Once again, I decided to just wing it, and make up my pattern as I went.  I used Berroco Vintage Chucky which I found at a local yarn store, Yarnery, here in St. Paul. This is one of my new favorite washable , affordable yarns. It’s part acrylic, which I normally don’t like, but this yarn is an exception. It has a good amount of wool in it, and feels great to knit with, and the price is very good for how much yardage you get. I also happened to knit the Baby Sophiticate with this!

Our other Nephew,  almost 2 year-old Benji, received a non-knit gift. I saw this pattern at Jo-anns during the christmas shopping/making craziness, and I HAD to make it! what kid doesn’t like tents?

I used a lightweight denim from Jo-anns. the pattern was pretty easy to follow, but working with such large pieces of fabric was rather cumbersome. Since I don’t have a large table to cut patterns on ( wouldn’t that be awesome) I had to lay out the giant piece of fabric on my wood floor, and bending down whilst cutting all the pieces is a good way to make your back ache! That said, it was a pretty satisfying project to finish.

There were also linen cloth napkins for my mother in law.

I used a little bias tape maker to make my own trim. I would love to make a bunch for myself now! Wouldn’t it be so nice to have a huge stash of these? The danger of making Christmas gifts, you end up with a huge list of things you want to make for yourself . Good thing I have decided January will be ” Selfish making month” 😉

And last but not least, there was the Slouchy 2-way Cabled Hat

I changed the yarn/needles/gauge the first time I made this, so it ended up as just a normal hat with no slouch factor. You are supposed to be able to wear it like a big beret, OR with the brim folded up as a normal stocking hat. Mine didn’t turn out that way which is fine because it was for my mom, and I’m not sure she is really into the slouch thing. I then instantly cast on another one for my sister, which had the slouch and fold  up brim, but was a little too tight of a knit, and didn’t have the right drape, so I blocked it to loosen it up a bit.   Of course I am making a THIRD one for myself , in which I think I might finally profect the design! I will definitely post pictures when I finish.

Whew!  If you made it to the end of the post, you have  serious bloggity endurance!

Here’s to another year  of making! Happy 2011! from Mr. And Mrs. Formakingsake!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    January 1, 2011 1:42 pm

    Dang Devin! You are productive! All your gifts are beautiful and very well made. I am totally impressed at your ambition and talent. Keep up the good work, so fun to see your pictures. You and Mark look adorable.

  2. becky permalink
    January 1, 2011 1:49 pm

    Devin, eveything turned out great!!! But then again, you made it, so of course it did! Love the tent and the sweater and hats! Nice job!! 🙂

  3. January 1, 2011 2:07 pm

    You’re motivating and inspiring me to start creating more! Love it all, Devin!

  4. January 1, 2011 2:39 pm

    Dev, you are amazing! I CAN NOT wait to be able to purchase your patterns (ahem…….the fingerless gloves are high on my priority list! 🙂 Your talents amaze me friend! 🙂

  5. Bethany permalink
    January 1, 2011 3:10 pm

    ditto on the “your talents amaze me!” You’re so good at knowing what would be the perfect totes awes thing to make for people! (And of course I esp. like the adorable teepee and the sophisticate sweater…but it is all beautiful!) Also: supes cute pic of you and Mark!! Happy New Year my friend 🙂

  6. January 6, 2011 5:41 pm

    First of all, that gentleman’s jacket is SUPERB. Also, I think Anna would love a pair of those fingerless gloves as she is perpetually cold (even while pregnant with twins). How much would it cost to have you make cool things for my family for all time?

Trackbacks

  1. Knitting for Baby « Maren Layne Design: Simple & Pretty

Leave a Reply

