Skip to content

A Tale of two mittens

January 9, 2011

When I first started dating Mark, I saw a glimpse of something woolen sitting on the top of a paper bag full of clothing. When he told me the bag was to be dropped off at the Goodwill that very day, a drawn-out “NOOOOOOOOOOO!” escaped from my mouth. There were traditional Norwegian mittens he had actually purchased on a trip to Norway, I’ve found out are called “Selbuvoter” I was instantly Smitten with the mittens!

As you can see, I have worn them to death. This mittens are seriously warm. I’ve brushed the snow off my car with them on my hands a million times , and my hands stay dry and warm. Did you know that wool actually creates a warm insulation when wet. How magical is that? The yarn used to make this type of mitten is usually a very sturdy course wool. I am using This kind . This makes them extra durable and warm. It also makes for  excellent stitch definition. I think there is a saying, either Irish or Norweigen that says ” There is no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing!”

I’ve always been itching ( get it, wool? Itching? )  to make some mittens in this style and found This pattern via ravelry. The designer gives you a colorwork pattern of her own, but also has a generic chart to add your own colorwork . When I first starting knitting them, the pattern seemed a little, um… spicy (ie. HARD!) but once I got into the chart, it was very easy to see where I was at in the chart, and I relaxed and enjoyed. Here is some in progress shots…

I especially love the pattern on the palm. I am pretty sure this diamond pattern is very typical of Selbuvotter mittens. I”m hoping a good blocking will smooth out that bump caused by knitting on double pointed needles..

Here is one more fun little knit I worked on this weekend. It is based on this owl hat pattern, but I am both cheap and impatient, so I decided to take my best quess at how to make it using the picture as my guide. I think this would make an adorable gift for some friends with a little one(or ones) on the way. Everyone loves cute little owls perched on baby heads, right?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. avery permalink
    January 9, 2011 11:03 pm

    Bomb.com mittens

  2. becky permalink
    January 10, 2011 6:04 am

    Dev, I love the mittens!! Good work! The owl is adorable too!

  3. Bethany permalink
    January 29, 2011 11:00 am

    so I’m a little late in commenting on this one… but DEVIN! For real?? The owl hat…puhleeeze! And the mittens!! Blows my mind! 🙂

Leave a Reply

