Skip to content

The goodwill pile

March 16, 2011

My sister was going through her closet the other day. I watched the “goodwill” pile grow. I also happened to notice some nice colors and textures developing in the pile. No, I wasn’t thinking about relocating any of it to my closet, but to my fabric stash!

( disclaimer: most only the bottom fabric is from the scavenged clothes, the rest is just from my stash)

sometimes I like to just fold up cool color combos with my fabric and just gaze longingly at it for a while. *sigh*. Isn’t this fun? I remember when we were planning our wedding, my favorite part was thinking of a “palate” of colors to work with.

They I tear apart my art/crafty room pulling out trim, and laying things out. Looking through books for ideas.  I just wasn’t sure what to make. Whenever that happens, I just make a bag! You can never have too many of those!

I clipped on a little flower that I got at H&M a while ago. I meant to make one out of fabric, but after trying a bunch techniques to make one, It just wasn’t happening. oh well.

Here is a picture of the inside. I salvaged the back pocket from Avery’s pants for the inside pocket. I did this cautiously, as salvaged butt pockets can sometimes remind me of the 90’s. Does anyone remember people when making complete purses out of the butt of stonewashed jeans was popular? yikes. I hope I avoided that look.

One more pic of the delicious grey cord. Grey is totally the new brown. You heard it here first folks. This is a much better representation of the color, because I took the picture in natural light. I’m so glad longer days are coming back! Horray for Spring!

hmmm, what clothing item can I tear apart next?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 8:12 am

    Devon,
    Love it….are you on etsy selling your stuff? Ok, sophie wants to make that vest for her boyfriends birthday May 25th….where do i find the pattern? We might need some help since we are so amateur with sewing…..also, did you use linen as the fabric? Where did you buy the fabric? We want the exact color you used for Mark’s vest. She totally freaks over that vest and can’t stop talking about how much she wants to make it …her boyfriend is a musician …rather small in stature so anyway…..help.

  2. March 25, 2011 5:21 am

    are you on etsy? lovely work!

    • March 26, 2011 9:51 am

      I am not on etsy yet, but plan to be soon! I will definitely make a big announcement on the blog when that happens. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

