Skip to content

Cows, Colleges, and Contentment ( and Fabric)

March 27, 2011

Mark and I took a little trip today to Northfield, MN. It’s only about 45 minutes from our home in St. Paul. It’s is home to Mark’s alma mater, St. Olaf College. It is always fun to wander around and witness Mark’s old stomping grounds. Northfield is known for three things.” Cows, Colleges, and Contentment.” I always think that slogan is so funny! You can’t make this stuff up folks!

It also the home of a fabric Mecca, called “Digs”

and oh man, there was fabric…

Mark was so patient while I paced the store, grabbing bolt after bolt of fabric. He even let me blow a large chunk of the grocery budget on fabric. What a guy!

This is the yardage that jumped off the shelf and followed me home. Isn’t it cute?

The picture is of course in terrible lighting, but I am obsessed with greys, yellows, and navy stripes. I am planning to make This little quilt. I have been thinking about this quilt pattern since the day I laid my eyes on it. It also combines another things I’ve been loving lately. Zigzags! The pattern is free on her site. Isn’t is Adorable?

Mark and I spent some time wondering around the new-ish arts building on campus. It was beautiful, and there were these big empty dance studios that I had to take Hipstamatic photos of.

Then we took a quick “emo” self portrait before the empty studios started to remind us a little too much of Black Swan, which I haven’t even seen (but the previews look scary enough!) so we fled the scene.

What a fun day! I can’t wait to cut into that fabric!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 10:49 pm

    I love those fabrics!! I used the stripes and the modern floral one (the Denyse Schmidt “Hope Valley” line ones) in a quilt and I love them! The line also has some charcoal blurs that are to die for. I can’t wait to see what you make with them!
    I’ve never been to Digs, but will definitely head over and check it out sometime. Thanks for the heads up!

  2. avery permalink
    March 28, 2011 9:08 am

    swizzity sweet. Maybe I should join in some quilting.

Leave a Reply

