Skip to content

Baby Gifts

April 10, 2011
I LOOOVE making baby gifts for friends having babies. There are so many cute ideas out there, but usually time is of the essence! Number one, because my friend’s pregnancies seem to go by SUPER fast, and because I typically have several friends that are pregnant at once! What’s a girl to do?
Well, I have started collecting projects ideas that are both doable, and special. I always have a tendency to make a quilt or blanket, but usually new parents receive a slew of them.
One of my favorite baby gifts to make has been bibs. I found this super simple and cute pattern in this book. It’s called “One yard wonders” and happens to be written by some local folks that run a shop in Minneapolis called Crafty Planet. I just make a stack of these for a baby shower, and they have such a satisfying result!
For a while now I’ve been wanting to make some sort of fabric beach ball type thing to give as gifts. I work in an Early Childhood Early Center with babies around the age of 9 -16 months, and so many of them LOVE balls. It’s a nice indoor toy because they aren’t likely to break a window when little Jr.’s pitching arm suddenly develops. ( You’d be surprised how many babies can barely walk, but have managed to throw balls, or molded plastic toys at my head while “playing ball”.)
I was pleasently surprised that when I googled “fabric beach ball pattern”, one of the first links was from the blog Purl Bee. I stumbled across this blog a while ago, so I’m not sure how I missed this pattern, since I probably spent an entire afternoon drooling over the extensive knitting, crocheting and sewing patterns and tutorials. The blog is part of an actual brick and mortar store in New York City called Purl Soho. Of Course when Mark and I went on Vacation to NYC last summer, I HAD to make a pilgrimage.
I know, I’m super geeky. I go to the city that is known for it’s theater, food, and live music, etc etc, and I was star stuck by a FABRIC STORE.
But back to the project. Once I made one of those cute little beach balls, they were like potato chips and I had to make a few more
Aren’t they cute? The best part was using tons of little scraps!
Now onto deciding on fabric for my ย “selfish” quilt. June is testing out the ย sit-ability ย of each one.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 7:54 am

    Such a good idea (the bibs) and I would never have thought of the fabric beach balls. Love them!

  2. becky permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:46 am

    These are fanstastic! If you ever want to make more, just because, i’m sure Ian would love something… just sayin! ๐Ÿ˜‰ You are so crafty, and amazing! Nice job. And the colors for your quilt look great! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  3. April 12, 2011 8:45 am

    LOOOOVE thos balls dev! ๐Ÿ™‚ They are perfect! ๐Ÿ™‚ And your quilt fabrics, amazing. Can’t wait to see how that turns out!!!! Happy sewing my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. shay permalink
    April 12, 2011 9:20 am

    I too, have One Yard Wonders and have yet to finish the apron I’ve been “making” since December. Those bibs rock and will have to make a few of those too! Love your blog and projects and i love you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

