Skip to content

The Definition of Insanity

April 18, 2011

I had a thought today as I was working on my quilt today. You know how you hear it said that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over, expecting different results?

Well, I think the definition of insanity  is spending a small fortune on many yards of fabric,  painstakingly cutting said fabric into a bazillion tiny pieces, only to put them all back together again.

I’ve actually thought a lot about how counterproductive it is to quilt. I’m pretty sure quilting started back in the day from having lots of fabric scraps lying around from making the family’s clothing, since you couldn’t go to the local Target Boutique and pick some up on clearance. Then, in an effort to waste not, want not, someone would stitch all those little pieces back together to make a blanket.

Well, my technique is the insanity type. But man, is it satisfying! It is such a simple trick to make those zig zags, all out of individual triangles. I can’t wait to finish this one!

I also happened to lure another innocent victim into the asylum. My Sista saw all those yummy triangles sitting on the floor, and declared ” I want to make a quilt!” Before she could finish her sentence I was whipping fabrics from my stash. Before we knew it, we were on our way to Crafty Planet, where I proceeded to live vicariously through her fabric purchase. Look at her “palate” all ready to go!

And other one bites the dust!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 6:37 pm

    YESS AVERY has officially “bitten the dust”! 🙂 But, gosh am I excited to see these lovely quilts that you ladies create! You do bring up an excellent point my Devin, quilting, these days is quite counter productive. And if you make a wrong cut on that fabric you spend your entire grocery budget on…well tears start to well up. At least for me! But your quilt will be awesome. Does this happen to be the Anna Maria Horner “folk quilt” pattern?!?! So eager to see BOTH of these done! 🙂

  2. avery permalink
    April 19, 2011 9:42 am

    I know! I can’t wait to finish it, but it’s also so fun to see it come together.

Leave a Reply

