Skip to content

The Zig Zag quilt

May 7, 2011

The Quilt is in full swing right now! This week has been packed to the gills with all sorts of social and work commitments, but I have managed to carve out a little time for this beauty

I can’t even tell you how nice it is to work on a project that has no rush! Last weekend I tore apart the dinning room and “sandwiched” all the quilt layers together. This is probably my least favorite part of quilting, because it means crawling around on my knees on the hardword floor, trying not to disturb all the layers.  Not to mention the inevitable mess I create in my house while moving all the furniture out of the way! But to see the quilt top all ironed out and looking so close to the finished result? That is fun!

I figured out a way to keep the back of the quilt from slipping and sliding all around the floor while I pin. A little painter’s tape to tighten it down like a canvas does the trick. I then put the batting on top and smooth out wrinkles. Same goes for the quilt top. Then, once you start pinning you can work from the middle on outward, and if you feel a wrinkle, you know it’s either the layer on top that you see, or the one directly below it. Maybe I am not the first to think of this trick, or maybe there is a reason why you shouldn’t tape your backing to the floor, but oh well, it saved me lots of frustration!

And because the cat is kind of like our kid, you get another picture of June. Don’t you hate it when people show you ten thousand pictures of their pets, insisting that they are making the “cutest expression” or doing the ” most adorable thing ever?”. Sorry, I think I’ve become one of those people.  Imagine me pulling out a wallet, and an accordion photo display cascades down to the floor as I tell you specifically what June was doing in each photo, and why she is unique to kitty kind. So, it could be worse. I try to keep it to one Cat Photo per post. Your welcome.

On a totally unrelated note, I bought myself some rananculus. Just cause. Aren’t they beautiful? It is FINALLY spring in Minne”snow”ta.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 11:42 am

    YESSSS! It looks so amazing….and June seems to be loving it too! 🙂 I love the hand-quilting that you are doing along the zig-zags! 🙂 Can’t wait for it to be finished! 🙂

  2. Anna Wicks permalink
    May 7, 2011 1:11 pm

    LOVE the quilt and LOVE ranunculus. You are so talented!

  3. Bethany permalink
    May 7, 2011 5:57 pm

    Wow Dev, that quilt looks awesome! Also those ranunculus are pretty pretty 🙂

  4. May 12, 2011 3:00 pm

    Wow, I am LOVING this quilt and the hand quilting! Those fabrics are awesome together!
    I’ve been taping my backing to the floor ever since I saw that that is how Elizabeth from Oh Fransson does it. Works very nicely!

Leave a Reply

