Skip to content

Strawberry Jam forever and THE quilt!

June 26, 2011

Yesterday, my friend Stacey and I picked of few of these ( and by a “few” I mean 20 pounds)

Did a little of this…

And ended up with a whole lotta these….

This canning stuff, it’s kind of addictive. My friend Stacey was a wonderful teacher to this canning novice. We are now scheming what else we should can this year. Pickles? Salsa? Pasta Sauce?  I feel so… Little House on the Prairie. I don’t need you, store bought jam! Take that Smuckers!  If there were a national shortage of sugary preserves, I would be juuuust fine, thank you!

I also finished THE quilt today! I hand-stitched the back of the binding with a clever little ladder stitch. This seriously changed my world. It makes a wonderful little seam that hides underneath the fold in the binding. I’m thinking of posting a little tutorial, what do you think? Would anyone be interested in some quilting how tos?

Without further ado, here it is!

On the bed

A close up

The most saisfying thing to me, after finishing a quilt is to fold it up. I don’t know why. The colors! The Layers! The Cat Hair (Ew.) oh my!

Here it is on it’s intended home. Nothing says cozy, like a quilt, eh? Now I plan on plopping my backside next to that glorious pom-pommed pillow and working some knitting. Ah, a maker’s work is never done!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ang permalink
    June 26, 2011 7:55 pm

    Oh what fun it is to read about your fun life! I feel so happy and relaxed reading your blog…I can just imagine strawberry jam jars wrapped in beautiful knit sleeves. Thanks for taking the time to share your talents. Love ya!

    • June 26, 2011 9:14 pm

      Thanks Ang!

      You are a constant supporter of me, and I am so thanksful for that! I love that you said you feel relaxed when you read the blog, that is a great compliment. Thank you for reading, and I am sooo thankful to have you as a sister 🙂 Love you too!

      Dev

  2. Denise permalink
    June 26, 2011 10:21 pm

    Ok…. A) LOVE THE JAM! Every year I make Happy Jam (Strawberry, Raspberry, Red Currant jam) and Ninja Jam (same stuff, plus jalapenos) and people always go slightly mental over it. I LOVE it. This year, I found this great website with all kinds of pickles I’d never thought of (ginger carrot pickles… curry cauliflower pickles) and I’m totally going for it! B) I got a sewing machine for Christmas from Kory last year… but I got an F in sewing in the 7th grade because I gave up and hotglued my final project together, which was a pillow that was supposed to look like a cheeseburger, with the tomato, cheese, etc….. so, I totally want to make a quilt, but I don’t know how to thread a bobbin… and I don’t know how to make an easy square quilt and I don’t know what that pizza cutter roller thingy is for…. so, I am amazed by yours. Especially because I recognize some of the fabric you bought!

  3. Marisa permalink
    June 27, 2011 11:41 am

    Congrats on finishing the quilt! It looks SO good on your couch. I am sure June is appreciative. Your house looks like a hipster crate & barrel catalog – and by that I mean beautiful, haha!

  4. June 28, 2011 8:26 pm

    Beautiful quilt!!!!!! Wow. Love the colors, the pattern, the stitching…it’s awesome. And the jam looks deliiiiiicious!! I can’t wait to can up some stuff from our garden this year!

    AND is that a chalkboard wall in your dining room????????? LOVE.

    • June 28, 2011 8:33 pm

      Thanks Tonia! It IS a Chalkboard wall, and I highly recommend one! I especially like when it’s been erased a few times and gets that ” dusty look”. Can’t wait to see what you can from your garden!

  5. July 5, 2011 1:05 pm

    The quilt is gorgeous! Love that hand quilting!

Leave a Reply

