Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Banana Heaven

August 30, 2011

We interrupt our regularly scheduled knitting/making scedule to make some chocolate chip banana bread muffins.

I have been making a lot of these lately. My job involves the caring for, and general entertainment of small children. ( also known as nannying). I’ve found that at least 50% of caring for children is feeding them. Maybe more than 50%? Anyway, my mom’s banana bread reciepe has gotten quite the workout this summer as kids love to help dump the ingredients into the bowls, and sample chocolate chips. Since my house always seem to have a surplus of past-ripe nanners, I whipped some up last weekend for moi.

I’ve come to find making these very comforting. There are pretty hard to screw up. My next batch will most likely be a flop now that I said that, huh?

Although it’s my mom’s recipe, I’m sure she’d be fine if I passed it on. The key is the buttermilk. Serious, don’t skip it. I have also subbed half or all of the butter with applesauce, and it worked great!

Mom’s Banana Bread

1 1/4 cup sugar

1 Stick of butter ( or 1/2 cup applesauce, or some combination of the two)

2 eggs

3-4 ripe bananas

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teas. baking soda

1 tsp salt

1-2 tsp cinnamon

chocolate chips ( as many as you deem appropriate , usually about a cup or so)

preheat the oven to 350, grease two muffin tins, or two loaf pans with either butter, or non-stick spray

mix sugar and softened butter ( or applesauce), eggs, bananas, and vanilla, and buttermilk. In a separate bowl, blend flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Add flour mixture to sugar mixture, making sure there are no dry patches. Add chocolate chips. divide into 24 muffins, or two loaf pans. Bake 15 minutes for muffins, about 1 hour for loaf pans. done when tooth pick comes out clean.

Now sit down with a muffin, and your knitting. Maybe the bananas inspired my new interest in the color yellow?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 9:37 pm

    What are you knitting? Love that yellow!

    • August 30, 2011 10:05 pm

      It’s a surprise for someone that may or may not read this blog, so it is incognito at the moment! I will blog about it once it is gifted though, I promise!

  2. Ruth permalink
    August 30, 2011 9:43 pm

    It is pretty funny how often the happy marriage of chocolate and bananas goes unnoticed. I just posted my own Banana Chocolate Chip muffin recipe a few weeks ago. I bead instead of knit, but my blog partner in crime, Emilie, knits. BTW, that’s not an orange the Rachel Ray tea kettle in the background behind the muffin tin is it? If it is we have more in common that banana muffins!

    • August 30, 2011 10:37 pm

      It’s actually a red dutch oven, but I do love to keep anything bright colored on my stove top!

  3. August 31, 2011 8:12 am

    Yes! Someone who adds chocolate to their banana bread – it works so well! These look awesome by the way. Hope the knitting is coming along nicely.

Leave a Reply

