Skip to content

Brought to you by the letter “J”

September 12, 2011

Saturday, I combined two childhood loves.

1. Bikes

2. Glue ( Modge Podge in my case)

When I found a darling letter ” J” ( for our last name, Joesting) at Paper Source, and equally darling sheet of scrapbook paper screenprinted with the cutest little bicyles, well, I couldn’t help myself.

I have been casually collecting J’s since I inherited Mark’s name almost 3 years ago. Now, when I say I “collect ” them, I trust that you won’t all start bombarding me with “J” themed items. Remember that one time, in 3rd grade, when you decided that you liked frogs, and from then on, everyone started getting you frog themed items? Yeah, I don’t want that to happen to J’s.

There was an unfortunate series of gifts from my Grandma,  middle school through high school. I happened to take up the flute (which I actually was pretty terrible at playing), and my sweet, well intentioned grandmother took it upon herself to buy my anything with a theme of, or picture of a flute on it. Don’t get me wrong,  I love that she thought of me everytime she opened a mail order catalog, but it went too far the Christmas that I unwrapped a giftbox containing a huge white T-shirt that read ” I Toot the Flute”, ehem. I’m pretty sure that sentiment was enough to make me give up my spot as 13th chair flute forever 🙂

Anyway, back to the “J”. Easiest Project ever. I just traced the J backwards and upside down on the back of the cute paper. I cut some strips the same width as the sides, and just went nuts with the Modge Podge. I am not a big scrapbooker, and this is probably the closest I’ll actually get to it. But man, gluing stuff together is FUN!  No wonder kids go nuts for glue, stickers, and basically any kind of adhesive.

my perfectly sized "J" collection

So, what are you gonna go cover in glue?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth Tweet permalink
    September 13, 2011 4:14 am

    Cool cool J 🙂 You’re inspiring me to try to get some projects going here soon! Miss you love you!

  2. September 13, 2011 7:45 am

    Love it. J is a good letter. L’s just not as exciting. It’s trying to be a j, but not quite there.

  3. September 13, 2011 1:16 pm

    Oooh, love it!

  4. shayna permalink
    September 18, 2011 1:52 pm

    toot da flute shirt, toot da flute hat… yep been there done that with the grandparents too. dolls holding flutes, flute jewelry. oy.

    i, on the other hand, kept it up!

    love the J’s! 🙂

    -shay

  5. September 19, 2011 11:48 am

    Hahahaa, the flute shirt story cracked me up!! I can’t imagine YOU being bad at ANY instrument, though!!

Leave a Reply

