Skip to content

Oh Happy Day!

October 17, 2011

It’s not everyday a new family member enters the world…

Tito Mark and Tess

Welcome to the world little Tess!

Now Tess, just so you know, your Auntie Devin ( Tita Devin in our family) LOVES making stuff for you. Like, lots of stuff. Sometimes there just isn’t enough time in the day to make all the things I want to make for you. You are so cute and tiny, but you will grow fast, sometimes faster than I can knit or sew. Luckily I had a fair amount of warning that you were coming, so I had a bit of a headstart on your quilt.

Like your cousins that have come before you, I picked each color and pattern just for you in your quilt. I picked lots of shades of browns and linens because I think you will be smart , focused, and sophisticated, like your Momma. I put touches of pinks and greens because I know you will be spunky and fun. I stitched it really tight, because you will be living with an older brother, two dogs, and a dad with an impressive selection of Nerf weaponry. The Nerf guns will come in handy when the inevitable stream of suitors come to your door someday. What I’m trying to say is, you’ll understand the need for durability soon 🙂

I hope you roll all over on this quilt, spit up on it, drag it through mud puddles, and wash it a bazillion times ( or your mom and dad will wash it more likely). I hope you use it so much that it needs repair, and I will stitch it back up for you. Overall , I hope you know how loved you are, from the moment you were born, even the moment we all found out you were coming. You see, my favorite thing about getting married to Tito Mark, beside him of course, is that I get to be a Tita.

Yesterday little Tess, you made that title even sweeter.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. angie permalink
    October 17, 2011 10:54 am

    What a beautiful post!!! LOVE IT!

  2. becky permalink
    October 17, 2011 2:24 pm

    So sweet Dev!! You are such a wonderful Tita!

  3. October 17, 2011 3:08 pm

    Awwwwe, congrats on your new niece! The quilt is absolutely perfect too!

  4. Dad permalink
    October 17, 2011 7:59 pm

    What a nice post! You are amazing! Love dad

  5. Kim Gallison permalink
    October 18, 2011 9:26 am

    what a beautiful quilt, what beautiful words & what a beautiful daughter we have! Love you dev!

  6. Avery permalink
    October 18, 2011 10:14 am

    Okay, I’m crying at my desk. They are lucky to have you are a Tita!

  7. kimmie peterson permalink
    October 23, 2011 5:05 pm

    ummmm seriously this made me cry alittle!!! your a great auntie!

Leave a Reply

