Skip to content

A Slice of Humble Pie

November 14, 2011

I admit, I was asking for it, really. A sweater knit with fingering weight yarn? But seriously, it’s the.perfect.sweater. I was powerless over it.

Cast on 582 stitches. gulp. ok. Join in round, being careful not to twist.

I promise, I thought I was really careful not to twist. I even knit flat for a while, then joining without twisting would be easier to see. I am really not sure how it happened, but I was happily knitting the giant BEHEMOTH shawl collar of the sweater in the car while Mark was driving yesterday. I think I even said ” I kinda like this part. This 1×1 ribbing part is kind of soothing. I don’t really have to think about it”. I decided to check my work one more time, you know, just the MAKE SURE I didn’t twist my stitches in the round, creating a mobius strip.

My heart starting beating faster. I had completed about 2″ inches of knitting. That’s a ton of knitting, at 582 stiches per round, probably 3-4 hours worth. This is where non-knitters, and even some knitters will deem me completely insane for even attempting a project like this.

I had to rip almost the entire piece out. I begged and pleaded with my knitting.

“PLEASE, knitting, can you magically untwist yourself and re-knit yourself! ” Could I somehow cut the seam, untwist, and sew back together? Any knitter who has made the same mistake knows the scary truth about twisting your stitches. There is NOTHING you can do when you twist your stitches in the round, aside for pulling it out and starting it over. UGGGGGHHHHH!

I was actually really proud how well I handled it. I felt the need to cry, and could see Mark getting anxious in the driver’s seat, just waiting for me to become unhinged.  This isn’t the first time he’s seen me melt down over a knitting mistake. ha. far from it. That’s how I know he’s a keeper, because he has seen the meltdowns, and is still married to me, many, many meltdowns later. I let a few tears out, and blew my resulting sniffly nose, and pulled myself together, with nary a word of profanity.
I remind myself, how much I love knitting, and it is simply a chance to enjoy more hours of knitting, right? right? RIGHTTT???

I also reminded myself of something my hero, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee says. This might be para-phrasing her, but it goes something like this.

“It’s not that experienced knitters don’t make mistakes. It’s just that they make make BIGGER mistakes, and make them faster. ”

so, so, true Stephanie.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 10:58 am

    Oh my gosh, I totally feel your pain… I did that very thing on my first ever sweater this summer! And I stupidly refused to believe I could have been so, well, stupid, and kept going for several rows! ACK!

    I think my next sweater attempt is going to employ the wise practice of knitting a few rows flat before joining and then adding a lifeline when joining…

    • November 14, 2011 11:47 am

      lifeline? what is this, I think I need to know for the future….

      • November 14, 2011 12:46 pm

        l’ve never heard of knitting it flat first and then joining.. makes sense though. lifelines have definitely helped me not pull out my hair in previous projects

      • November 14, 2011 4:03 pm

        I’ve never actually done this cuz the concept is new to me, too, but you run a piece of waste yarn through all your stitches so that IF you have to frog back, you can just pull until you reach that particular row and easily pick up the stitches to re-knit. I’ve heard of people doing this at, say, the beginning of each lace section, so that if they mess up, they don’t have to fight with picking up stitches or frogging an entire project and restarting. K1P1 rib may not be a particularly challenging knit but 500+ stitches is something I don’t want to have to cast on any more often than, say, ONCE!

  2. Marcotafia permalink
    November 14, 2011 11:10 am

    I was thinking about trying that sweater…if I do I’ll be really careful 🙂 I’ve done the same thing on smaller projects, of course. The other night when I made another kind of error, my husband said, “I thought you liked knitting; it always makes you mad.” That just made me more mad!

    • November 14, 2011 11:48 am

      ha! so true. that comment from the hubs would have worked me up even more, as well! 🙂

  3. November 14, 2011 11:11 am

    Goodness! you are quite brave! and congrats on your graceful handling of it.

  4. November 14, 2011 1:17 pm

    Oh my! So sorry. And you are insane. Just saying!

Leave a Reply

