Skip to content

Baby gifts, and faith in Elizabeth Zimmerman

November 21, 2011

Two new baby gifts, given to their reciepients, that means I get to show them to you!

Here is  sweet Harrison ( the son of my knitting group pal)  modeling his wee little booties!

I have to admit, I have never made a pair of booties. I know, right? I’ve been knitting “seriously” for I don’t know, about 8 years?  You knitters know what I mean by knitting ” seriously”. Anyway, I can’t believe that I’ve never tapped this resource of knitting baby booties. Fairly fast, entertaining to knit, and come on, booties are ridiculously adorable! I will totally knit this pattern again. A great way to use up sock yarn! I’ve seen a bunch of these knit up with stripes. Here is the ravelry link.

Sarah, you asked what I was knitting way back when…

It was Tess’s sweater! I started it as soon as I found our niece Tess, was in fact a niece and not a nephew. I think marigold is such a great color on little girls, no?

I had one problem with this sweater. The construction is very straight forward, top-down, blah blah blah. The designer gives you some responsibility at the end. She tells you to continue the pattern, inserting the button holes equally spaced as you go. Well, wouldn’t you know, I only put in the first two button holes, totally spacing out the third. For a while I thought I’d just to leave it at two. Then I thought I’d rip my work back until I got to the spot of the last button hole. You KNOW how much I hate ripping back, and I’d had my fair share of that recently… ehem.

Did you know there is such a thing as an after-thought button hole? NEITHER DID I! Elizabeth Zimmerman is a knitting genius, I found the button hole idea in her book.

So, with an intense amount of faith in E.Z., I cut, yes CUT a snip of yarn where I wanted the button hole to be..

pulled out a few live stitches, tied yarn onto each end, and somehow managed to cast off a few stitches on the top and bottom of this scary little opening in my knitting, and wouldn’t you know, it WORKED!  I know, you want to knit this pattern. It comes in baby AND toddler sizes. Knock your selves out!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 12:27 pm

    Cute!!

  2. Judy Willis permalink
    November 21, 2011 12:49 pm

    Sensational!! Tess will wear it proudly!

  3. November 21, 2011 2:34 pm

    Oh, adorable. I have never cut knitting. You are one brave woman!

Leave a Reply

