Skip to content

Molly the Cat

November 28, 2011

OK, so anyone knows me, knows that I’ve had a difficult time parting with June the cat. June has made a few appearances in the blog too :).  My sister has had this cat since high school, and we “fostered it” off and on, and grew rather attached. Ok, attached might not be a strong enough word. There were songs made up to serenade June on a daily basis. There were way too many conversations revolving around June the Cat, or the funny/cute/awesome things she was doing at the moment. Yup, we are those people.

Well, Avery found a new place, and decided she was taking June with her. I laid a huge amount of guilt on her for plucking June out of our lives. She told me we would love a new cat just as much as June. I told her I didn’t want another cat. I wanted June. I pouted like a toddler about the whole things.

Well, wouldn’t you know, Mark and I woke up last Saturday morning, after a few weeks of being “pet-less” and we simply NEEDED a cat of our own. Right. Now. We drove to the Animal Humane Society on the first snowfall of the year. Avery came with, being the cat lover she is, there was no way she was going to miss an oppourtunity to cuddle kitties. P.S. If you are looking to add a furry friend to your house, please consider adopting a pet from a shelter. The Humane Society’s adoption fees are very reasonable, and they come spayed or neutered and complete with all their shots and lots of information about personality and their history when possible. Plus you are giving an animal in need a home, what’s not to love?

We played with a little kitten named “Thelma”. She was adorable, but I knew Thelma would find a good home, kittens usually do. We settled on finding an adult cat. Curled up in a little pen, almost out of sight, was a gray kitty named Molly. The woman at the shelter took her out and put her in our arms.  She purred and nuzzled our arms immediately as we pet her. Yup, this cat was coming home with us. While we filled out the necessary paperwork, the staff put a sign on her pen that said ” I’m going home today”.

We kept the name Molly, because well, it just suited her . I know some people don’t love cats, or even like them, but there is something about the company of a fluffy animal, curled up next to you, that is just soooo cozy and perfect to me. And you know how much I love coziness. 🙂 She loves to be in whatever room Mark and I are in. She prefers to sleep directly in between us. She has even shown a fascination with yarn :). When we are brushing our teeth and getting ready for bed, she waits in the doorway until we are all settled, and then makes her move, jumping into bed and starts purring immediately as she finds the warmest spot to fall asleep.

Plus, she looks so good on this red chair, against the blackboard paint. It was meant to be.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 10:42 am

    She is adorable! I wish I could have a second kitty!

  2. November 28, 2011 10:45 am

    I think I already love Molly the cat! 🙂 And from the sounds of it, she loves you too…I mean, a cat with a preference towards yarn in your house is a MUST! 🙂 Welcome Home Molly!!!!

  3. Avery permalink
    November 28, 2011 11:02 am

    So cute and so nice!

    Give Molly some love from Auntie Aves.

  4. December 1, 2011 10:31 am

    Oh my gosh she is sooooo cute!!!! Congrats on the new family member. What a lucky girl Molly is!!!

  5. December 12, 2011 5:44 pm

    Thank you for opening your heart and home to Molly! We have a Molly too…she chose us. We always feel terrible that we can’t take any home from the shelters, but they literally come to us instead!

Leave a Reply

