Skip to content

One Week till Christmas!

December 19, 2011

Ahh, What a nice weekend. I had my mom, sister, and cousin to bake cookies yesterday. It was awesome, and we churned out LOTS of stuff. The thing is, my family only make Christmas cookies that are absolutely delicious.Even the sugar cookies are amazing, not just to look pretty ( although most are quite pretty) We don’t mess around.

My teeny tiny kitchen did quite well under all the pressure, I must say. Even though my kitchen looked like it got hit by a tornado of flour and melted almond bark, I honestly didn’t mind, because I really enjoy hosting things like this. It’s one of the reasons I love our house. It isn’t big, or fancy, but I am so thankful for it everyday. Sometime, before I go to bed, I like to just sit in the kitchen or dinning room in silence, and just remember how much we wanted our own home, and here it is! It feels like pure abundance when I remember how many people don’t even have a bed to sleep in, much less an entire home. I try to remind myself of that when I complain about yard work, or “only ” having one bathroom 🙂

Friday night, Mark and I had a present wrapping party. I had this idea that I wanted to wrap our gifts in the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal. I don’t know why, but I really enjoy coming up with unexpected ways to wrap gifts. We had so much fun digging through the pages, trying to match the subject of the article  or ad with their recipient’s personality when possible. My favorite one is wrapped in a Tiffiany and Co. ad.

I found some cool pom-pom yarn at a craft store( You KNOW I have a weakness for pom-poms!), and dug out some woolly red leftovers from my stash, and we were off! I think we might make this a tradition, it was cheap , and completely recyclable. ( well, the paper that is, the yarn makes an excellent cat toy we found out!)

Now that our presents are all wrapped, I do believe I am excused to relax with some more selfish knitting, no? As to not completely mislead you all, we do have Christmas cards to address, and a few little things to do, I am not that ahead of the game !

Leave me a comment and tell me what is abundant in your life…

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Avery permalink
    December 19, 2011 9:51 am

    I ate a Cherry Square for breakfast. Whoops!

  2. December 19, 2011 1:17 pm

    Those cookies look delish! We have done a lot, but have much to do, too. Tis the season!:)

  3. December 19, 2011 3:32 pm

    I love the idea of matching the newspaper to people’s personalities. I always try and find the *perfect* card, and this sounds like another way of personalizing gifts! Thanks for the idea.

  4. kimmie peterson permalink
    December 19, 2011 5:35 pm

    Ive used newspaper for gift wrap as well and people have loved it! they always take the time to look at the paper and make the connection to who the gift is for. And of course I like being cheap!!!

    • December 31, 2011 2:25 pm

      I always appreciate being Cheap-Chic! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Kimmie!

  5. December 19, 2011 8:24 pm

    We did the same thing yesterday…had a marathon baking session! My kitchen is a wreck too but I have 1 or 2 more things I want to make before I spend the time to get it properly cleaned up again.
    Your newspaper and pompom yarn wrapping is fabulous! I totally want to do that next year! Merry Christmas!

    • December 31, 2011 2:24 pm

      glad you liked the newspaper wrap! If you do it next year, you’ll have to blog about it!

Leave a Reply

