Skip to content

The last day of the year

December 31, 2011

Does anyone else feel like the Holidays were a blur this year? A wonderful, unseasonably warm blur? I have to admit, I missed having a least a little bit of Minnesota snow, but I secretly loved being able to drive to see family without really worrying about snowstorms and below freezing temps!

Also, I’m sorry for those of you who don’t enjoy cats, or knitting, because that seems to be the extent of my happenings lately. But for a break in my regularly scheduled knitting/cat/all-around-old-ladyness, I actually went OUT last night. I got a last minute call to see if I could use two tickets to see the sold out Dawes show last  last night.

 

The wonderfully generous Sarah sent them my way, and before I knew it, My sista Avery and I were on our way to The Varsity in Minneapolis to take in some great music!  The best part was how the band, AND their opener specifically mentioned how much they like playing in Minneapolis. Of the last 4 or 5 national bands I’ve seen, all of them mentioned that the Twin Cities have the best turn-outs, sometimes better than their own hometowns! I’m so proud to live here. We live in an area where really great music is supported, and new music can have a platform. Ahh, I could just gush all day about it. On my New Years Resution list? More live music, both to make more of if, and see more of it!

And you knitters, don’t worry, I am still knitting the everlasting sweater. Does it look any bigger than last time?  This is a marathon knit for sure…

And the Legwarmers, only one done. I’m trying to be patient, waiting for the shipment of the yarn to come into the  local shop. My name is on the list when it comes in, but I still called the other day, you know, just to check that they didn’t forget I want some when it comes in :). Not many people can claim to be stalkers of yarn, but unfortunately I think I know fall under this category.

Well, until 2012 folks! See you on the flip side!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy Willis permalink
    December 31, 2011 3:43 pm

    I would like to know if you have a use for old breadspreads made of chenille. I have white with a blue chenille trim, and yellow. I have seen pillows, snowmen and teddy bears but in our quilt store they have other colors that can be added for baby blankets. I would be happy to send them to you.
    Judy Willis

    • December 31, 2011 3:45 pm

      sure! Those would be fun to sew with! No rush though, you could just bring them next time you come to see Meg and Ryan. Thanks for thinking of me!

  2. December 31, 2011 4:15 pm

    Ah! Glad you had a good time! I’ve been listening to the album today. Happy, happy new year! And yes to making some music in 2012!

  3. Judy Willis permalink
    December 31, 2011 4:16 pm

    Better yet, you can come to the cabin in Wisconsin! The spring is beautiful and so is the fall.
    Just let me know, I think you would enjoy it and I can meet you there or you can pick up the spreads and have a nice weekend. You decide. Let me know.
    Judy

Leave a Reply

