Skip to content

Mishaps in Knitting

January 31, 2012

I’ve come to terms with the fact that when you teach someone to knit, you might not relay the information so perfectly….

Let me tell you about  my sweet friend Marisa. She was first a co-worker and friend of my sister’s, and I am now lucky enough to call her a friend of mine! When she expressed interest in learning to knit, I nearly leapt off my chair. She is super stylish and smart, this was going to be soooo fun!

I had her cast on what I thought was a reasonable number of stitches for an adorable little washcloth for her adorable retro kitchen. She cast on and started knitting like a natural. I was so proud. When we met again, she pulled out her knitting, and it was um, rather large. Like, a super long washcloth. There was definitely a problem. First  came the denial..

“It’s just a really BIG washcloth, right?

Then there was bargaining.. Maybe a scarf for June Cat? She seems to like it…

“Maybe a cool collar-type necklace thing? I bet something like this will show up at American Apparel soon…”

I think I felt guilt at some point for leading her attray… is that a stage?

I’m not sure what other steps we missed, but we did end up in the acceptance stage.

It was a little painful for her to watch me unravel her hard earned stitches. I , on the other hand, have become a bit numb to this sort of thing.  This is tough love Marisa, you will thank me for this someday. Or you will never want to pick up your knitting again. I’m desperately hoping for the former, rather than the latter .

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Avery permalink
    January 31, 2012 9:53 am

    LOL. Best post ever.

  2. Marisa permalink
    January 31, 2012 9:55 am

    Yay!!! Devin you are the sweetest – and the BEST teacher. …and June’s face- aaack! Priceless.

  3. January 31, 2012 12:34 pm

    Frogging and getting over the denial are two important knitting lessons 😉

Leave a Reply

