Skip to content

West Coast Crafta’

February 24, 2012

Sorry for the absence here, I was busy escaping winter for a place to wear flips flops. No, we weren’t in Mexico or Jamaica, we went to San Francisco! I was however, in the minority with my flip flips, I think both for fashion reasons, and temperature reasons, but who cares?

Mark and I had been wanting to visit our dear friend Olivia for a while now. We all were in “Art Club” together in college and got along fabulously. And just when we thought the world of Olivia couldn’t get any more awesome , she married this guy Nic last May, and BOOM, we love him too. We HAD to visit them.

Here is the two lovebirds in front of their adorable place of residence. I’ll give you 10 dollars if you didn’t just say ” awwww!!!!”

So much green! I forgot what that looked like…

Like in most cities, I feel like we just touched the tip of the iceberg. There were so many things to do and see, that we simply must go back sooner rather than later. However Olivia and Nic formulated the perfect plan everyday,I’m still not sure how they did it!

We started with a trip over to Sausalito, which is basically on the other side of the Golden Gate bridge.

It was gorgeous and simple, and relaxing. The perfect way to start out our trip.

There were so many incredibly fit bikers, tackling those hills like they ain’t no thing! it made me excited to get out my bike this spring.

That evening we were treated to homemade pasta prepared by Nic, which I’m sad I didn’t get a picture of. Later, we decided to get out some intruments, as Nic is an incredibly talented musician. I checked a huge thing of my bucket list, which was to play ( or at least attempt to play) the cello. Nic taught both Mark and I learned a few notes, and played along with violin and guitar. Such a perfect evening, making music with friends!

Here is me looking incredibly  frightened of the Cello.

I’m a bad wife and didn’t take any pictures of Mark learning, which is a shame, because he caught on really quick, and looking smokin’ whilst doing so!

We took in a quick wine tasting in their neighborhood of Alemeda, right across the bay. We had a great view of the city , and the Bay Bridge!

We also saw this sign, which Olivia made me take a picture of..

The next day we got a nice driving tour of the city, starting with the famous GGB

We went to the Twin Peaks and got an amazing view of the city, and my hair actually unbraided itself in the wind…

Got delicious french food at La Boulange, and sat OUTSIDE while we ate. I forgot that people do that. Eat outside that is.

We picked up some amazing coffee and Chocolate Eclairs that changed out lives at Tartine.

Our last day, we were let loose in the city while O&N went to work, and we found our way to Ghirardelli  square and had a salted caramel hot chocolate. YUM!

We stopped for a minute at Dolores park, which was just so so beautiful. I seriously debated just laying down for a nap there. N&O informed us they show movies in the park here. How great would that be?

Oh yeah, and I barely did any knitting. Nothing photoworthy, that’s for sure. But I’m ok with that. 🙂

I’m quite confident we left our hearts in that beautiful city.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Marcotafia permalink
    February 24, 2012 9:39 am

    Glad you had a good time! I love SF too — we have good friends in San Mateo and try to visit them every year or two. We ALWAYS go to Tartine, and spent some time in Dolores Park the last time we were there, so I enjoyed visiting them vicariously through your photos 🙂

  2. February 24, 2012 9:47 am

    What an incredible trip! LOVE the picture of you & Mark at the Golden Gate Bridge. And have you ever thought you maybe you were meant to be a cello player? You look so natural at it.

  3. Avery permalink
    February 24, 2012 10:02 am

    Those pics are totes awes (totally awesome). I still have to tackle some of that “drinking chocolate” you brought me back from Ghirardelli.

  4. Kate permalink
    February 24, 2012 10:10 am

    Devin – great blog entry! Loved hearing and seeing about your trip, so glad you two got away! You’re such a great writer. Keep it up! Hope to see you soon… – Kate

  5. February 24, 2012 3:35 pm

    Oh what a wonderful trip that was! lovely photos of such a lovely town.

  6. Judy Willis permalink
    February 24, 2012 6:46 pm

    So glad you got to experience this trip. Many years ago Bob and Judy got to travel (1976) and we loved it! Then years later we got to go a few more times. Each time we had a new experience and remembered all of it. Put it in your scrapbook!

  7. February 26, 2012 12:08 am

    We LOVED having you here. Please come back as soon as you can. We can go north to wine taste and swim in the giant mineral pool in Calistoga. I love you so much.
    xoxox,
    O

  8. February 26, 2012 8:10 am

    Looks amazing Devin!! So fun to read about your trip to SF! Love the photos and that you guys played cello!^^ 🙂

Leave a Reply

