Skip to content

paint

March 31, 2012

The last few springs, since we bought the house, I’ve declared stage left of my porch, the ” painting studio”. How productive this studio is, well, it has its ups and downs. Last weekend, I brought everything out, and arranged it every so nicely, in hopes that I will be more likely to just sit down and paint something. I usually go straight to oil paint, but for some reason, I just felt like something simple, with easy clean-up. I reached for a set of watercolors, and painted. I definitely didn’t blow myself away, but it was nice to warm up to painting again.  Watercolors are FUN, if you haven’t attempted them since childhood, you should try them again.

Of course, it’s a bike. I am a sucker for bikes on anything. Kitchen towels, paintings, you name it. If there is a bike on it, I usually want to buy it, or make something like it. There is just something so pure and lovable about those two wheels and pedals, Don’t you agree?

Like painting, I’m reacquainting myself with city biking. This is only my second season really. My sister is queen of biking the city streets. Once I asked her when I should bike on the sidewalks, to which she quickly replied ” NEVER!”. Not sure if she even remembers she said that.  I love that she totally owns her sport. She’s got serious confidence in her biking, which I admire and hope to emmulate. Rest asuured my sister and I are safe, smart and  courteous bikers, so  let’s save  that debate of whether or not cyclists belong on the road for a rainy day, and look at this amazing view I saw from the Ford Parkway bridge in St. Paul. Purdy, huh?

I’ll keep you updated on the productivity of the porch studio. Any other watercolor and/or biking enthusiasts out there?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. wicksa permalink
    March 31, 2012 10:20 am

    Perhaps you would enjoy this: http://www.bikefriendlygr.org/

  2. tonybarlow03 permalink
    March 31, 2012 10:59 am

    Just started getting in to biking again. Running was getting too hard on my “aging” body, so I am hoping biking will help me stay in shape. We will see!

  3. April 1, 2012 10:01 pm

    Oh my goodness! I love, love, love your painting! How fun!

Leave a Reply

