Skip to content

To Momma’s everywhere!

May 14, 2012

Sorry for my absence here. Remember how I posted about the deck project? We hosted a baby shower for the beautiful, talented, and hilarious, Emily Steffen, and I used the party as motivation to some serious, speedy work on the yard and deck, hence the reason I haven’t written in a while! Do you remember the before?

Here’s the after:

Every last second was used to put a final coat of paint on the deck, or pull a weed. And this weekend ended up being the most BEAUTIFUL weather ever. We had so much fun, laughing, drinking fruity drinks, and celebrating one of the most amazing ladies I’ve ever known. We’ve known each other since middle school, and here she is, almost a momma. I am still reeling from how fun the shower was, and how excited I am for the arrival of baby Steffen!

Emily loves to sew and create on top of her already amazing photography business, so we all worked on a fabric alphabet book, everyone contributed with a page. There were some grumbles from those that aren’t sewing inclined  *ehem… Abby*, but I am happy to say most agreed it was fun once they got going!

Almost all of our “Knitch” girls were there ( We missed you Julie and Emily D!)

My sister  was my right hand girl getting everything together at the last minute, and Mark of course hasn’t had a break from the “honey do ” list in weeks ! I’m just feeling so blessed, I  hope Emily is feeling the same, as that is the whole idea of a shower 🙂 Thank you Katie and Beth for the the help planning!

Mother’s Day started off with nice 35 ish mile bike ride with my Momma and sister.  Of course I didn’t get a picture of the three of us, darn! That’s cause we were too busy kicking butt and taking names, on some giant hills. I could go on and on about how awesome my mom is ( and sister), and what an amazing biker she is, but it deserves a post of it’s own!

Since we had worked so hard on the yard, we decided to have Mark’s side over in the evening for some grilling and more Momma celebration. I am so lucky to have married into a fun, loving family like the Joestings. We enjoyed watching the nieces and nephews run around the yard and giggle. A slice of heaven.

This is the adorable Miss Tess, our Goddaughter, and her Nanay ( Grandma)

After all the festivities were over, and Mark and I had done the dishes, I had to take a few more of the deck.  Then I sat out on the porch under the glow of more pretty lights ( I can’t get enough of pretty lights), and felt so grateful, so happy, so content. Happy belated Mothers Day to all the Mommas, soon to be Mommas, and Mommas in heaven.

Lots of Love,

Devin

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Gloria permalink
    May 14, 2012 11:02 am

    I loved the pix of the mini-Joestings! Love from Mark’s God-Momma – Aunt Gloria

  2. jen gori permalink
    May 14, 2012 11:56 am

    It turned out wonderful. I love the sharp contrast of the brown and white…so crisp and nice. You inspire me to get my butt out and do something beautiful in the yard!
    Thanks girl

  3. May 14, 2012 12:54 pm

    what a full, great weekend!

  4. May 15, 2012 9:51 am

    OK……I love these photos and I am SO SO SO THANKFUL for such a fun time this weekend. I am still on a “high” from how amazing and special I felt from how showered and loved you ladies poured onto me! 🙂 The deck was PERFECT, the food was amazing and the company was even better!!!! I love you Ms. Devin! 🙂 YAY for babies and yay for amazing friends like you! 🙂

  5. May 18, 2012 9:41 am

    What a beautiful party!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

