Skip to content

5 More Things

August 9, 2012

It’s been a while since I’ve been at this space. I trust you’ve kept busy, perhaps enjoying some outdoor space? I know I have. Here is a quick list of 5 Things that are making me happy right.now.

1. Spending some serious QT with nieces and nephews up north. ( and also some QT with the hammock, my happy place)

2. Beets! How come no one ever told me how delicious there are? Boiled or roasted, straight up with salt, or on a salad with goat cheese. I don’t know why they get such a bad wrap?

3. The ongoing bounty of my garden and farmers market. Here is a yellow curry made with garden green beans. I cheated and used the bottled yellow curry sauce from Trader Joe’s. I figured the homegrown veggies were good enough!

4. My new succulents. They say succulents are hard to kill, but I did manage to basically kill one before. Anyone know how often to water these puppies without overdoing it?

5. A new pattern in my head, working it’s way onto you yarn. Oh the possibilities of a simple ball of string!

What is making you happy right now?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2012 4:55 pm

    BEETS!!! A staple in the Ukraine! I have the best recipes for pickled, piguant, soup ,etc.!

    Here is one:

    Easy beet recipe for salads in the re-fig:
    2 cans (1lbs) beets if you didn’t grow them in your garden
    1 cup cider vinegar
    1 cup sugar
    1/8 tsp. pepper
    5-10 gloves depending on freshness
    2 bay leaves
    1 cup liquid from canned beets or water
    1 tsp salt
    6 hard boiled eggs or double the recipe ( these eggs are great on salad)

    heat to boil beet juice, cider vinegar, sugar, spices & salt

    Cover and store in refrig for at least 24 hours. Will keep 2-3 weeks. You can always bring to a boil again and use (juice) a second but not a third time.

  2. August 22, 2012 8:09 am

    beets rule. so do you! love your blog and snippets of your life!^^ Congrats on the bounty of your garden! 🙂

Leave a Reply

