Skip to content

Adventures in spinning

November 12, 2012

It all started when my grandpa ( who happens to be a real live cowboy/ lives on a farm/wears cowboy boots and hats to church) added two alpaca to his pack of livestock. Of course to me, alpaca=awesomely soft yarn, and wouldn’t you know, the next Christmas, there was a big back of alpaca fleece landed under the tree with my name on it. I thought I’d somehow get it spun, and whip up a hat or something to give to my grandpa for Christmas the next year. Easy, right?

That was two year ago. Finally this weekend, we persuaded a friend of ours to come over with her carding supplies and a spinning wheel, and taught us the basics. I use the term ” basics” lightly. I have a whole new appreciation for the pioneer men and women that had to go from sheep to sweater. Holy cow. I don’t think there is anything easy about it.

Let’s just say, if you think knitting is time consuming and difficult, That’s nothing! Spinning your own yarn is a whole new level of crazy ( I mean crazy in the best way possible, of course).

 

I was already exhausted from picking out tiny bits of hay and debris from the fleece the day before. God bless Sara, our spinning teacher friend, who was so kind and patience while I bumbled about with my seemingly two left hands at the carding machine, then the drop spindle, then the spinning wheel. It was the real deal spinning wheel guys, straight out of Rumpulstiltskin…

I can imagine some people might find this fun, even relaxing. But right now, I haven’t really gotten the hang of it. Yeah, that’s a gentle way to put it…

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2012 8:28 am

    Wowee! that looks tricky! Can’t wait to see what you make with it.

  2. November 12, 2012 6:16 pm

    omg a spinning wheel? dangg girl! & it looks like Molly wants to try… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. November 29, 2012 10:41 am

    I AM SO JEALOUS!!!! There is a sheep farm down the road and I keep bugging the farmer’s wife to teach me how to sheer them and spin the wool. She’s a pro at it. Your spinning wheel is so pretty!!!! And Alpaca wool is so, so warm. When can I come over? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

