Skip to content

April (snow)showers

April 25, 2013

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

April has been the strangest month. All of us Minnesotans had such high hopes for some spring weather, but we’ve been slammed with snowstorms almost every week! To top it off, I spend a good 3 weeks feeling really sick. I won’t go into detail, but for this normally super healthy girl, I had a cold that turned into all sorts of super painful, uncomfortable other things, and more trips to the doctor and midwife than ever! I feel like I am an expert on natural remedies that are safe during pregnancy. Not sure how many of them actually worked. I think the only thing that truly helped was rest and time. Luckily, nothing I’ve experienced over the last three weeks has been dangerous to me or the baby, and I count my blessings for that. Every time I had a little pity party with my box(es) of kleenex, feeling like I’d never feel well again,  I tried to remember how many other Mama’s would gladly trade their pregnancy complications for any combination of my ailments. Perspective can dish out a healthy dose of reality. 

However, I am glad to finally becoming out of the haze of feeling sick, and welcoming the sun and warm temps that have finally decided to arrive. I supposed the cocktail of sickness and blizzards really does make me appreciate normalcy even more. My sewing and knitting and making has literally remained untouched until this last week. Boy, does it feel good to get back at my routine again, just in time for my “normal” to be completely flipped upside-down by Baby Joesting. Our due date is Sunday!

The nursery is ready to go, complete with a hand made origami mobile made by Daddy Joesting. I absolutely love it, and it makes me smile every time I look at it. I also took a little time to make a cosmetic bag, and eyeglass case for myself. A special little something to pack in the hospital bag with my personal items. It’s been so long since I’ve made something for myself, but I am pretty smitten with this little bag. I feel like writing up a simple pattern and set of instructions for this little bag for you all. Not promising, but if this baby comes late, I might have some time on my hands. 

I guess I must be back into the nesting/domestic kick, because I saw this lemon cake recipe on pinterest, and I couldn’t get it out of my head! It was sooo good, and looked so sweet and summery! I highly recommend giving it a try. 

I also included one of our maternity photos with the amazing Emily Steffen Photography. I know my facebook friends have seen these already, but I thought I’d include one here to. I debated whether or not to have some pictures taken of the baby belly. It’s an odd thing to have your appearance change so drastically, some changes are fun, some cause you to pause at your reflection and think, “oh dear, is that really me?”. But after dealing with my fear of being photographed, Emily makes us feel so at ease in front of the camera, and snapped away so many great shots so quickly! She is a magical combination of artist/friend/miracle worker. Anything she takes a photo of turns to gold! I’m so glad we did the photos, and that Emily squeezed in my last minute request.   It’s such a fleeting moment. Now it’s just time to hurry up and wait.

tick. tock.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2013 8:33 am

    Dev! This is probably the best nursery I’ve ever seen! I love it! Super great post. I love the “perspective” you talked about, but im so sorry youve been so ill! Now… I can’t wait to meet baby J!

Leave a Reply

