Skip to content

Iris

May 20, 2013
tags:

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

She’s here! She’s two weeks old, and I’m just now getting a chance to write about her arrival. That’s pretty normal, right? Everything taking about 10 times longer when you have a newborn in your arms?

The last few weeks were a blur. My due date came with little fanfare. However, a few days after that we had 5 days of intense contractions, no sleep, and a drastically altered birth plan. Finally we had her in our arms. I never knew that you could be completely exhausted, and on an adrenaline high all at the same time. Well, at least, I’d never experienced it.

I struggle to find a word to adequately describe Mark’s devotion to me through the whole event. He was so patient and supportive through everything. Through the whole nine months. I still can’t quite believe we have a daughter. A daughter.

I’ll never forget Mark announcing It’s a girl! I looked at him and said ” It’s an Iris?” with tears in my eyes, so relieved that she was finally here.

“Do you still want to use that name?” I asked

slight pause 

” Yes” he said. 

So we named her Iris. Not a family name. We just liked it because it was simple, pretty and classic. I hope she likes it as she grows up. I hope she has a childhood filled with sunny days, bike rides, sandboxes, and finger-paints. I hope she never gets her heart broken, or gets picked on by a mean girl. I hope she never IS the mean girl. I hope she never feels ashamed of her body, or wishes she were someone else. I hope that her mother can come to terms with the fact that disappointment and pain will be inevitable in her life. But there is plenty of time for worrying about that. Now is the time to stumble around in my PJ’s, let the dishes pile up, and admire the miracle of a new life in the spring. Not a bad gig. Not bad at all.

Image

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2013 10:06 am

    Gulp. Tears at my desk. She’s so lucky to have you as parents.

  2. Gloria Schuiltz permalink
    May 20, 2013 10:06 am

    Just beautiful! And today I see that the irises in my yard will be blooming soon and I think of our family’s wonderful little Iris.
    Lotza love,
    Grand Aunt Gloria

  3. May 20, 2013 11:38 am

    Tears in my eyes!!!! Devin, so beautiful! I love little Iris and can’t wait to watch you be the best mommy to her! She is one lucky baby! 🙂

  4. May 20, 2013 11:41 am

    This brought tears to my eyes! So happy for you three! Welcome Iris!

  5. May 20, 2013 8:08 pm

    Oh, she really is so, so beautiful. Can’t wait to meet that sweet girl!
    xo

  6. Lori permalink
    May 21, 2013 7:47 am

    Congratulations on your beautiful baby girl. She is lovely ….!

  7. Scott permalink
    May 22, 2013 8:16 am

    The women in my house are hassling me about a road trip west!!!……..So happy for you guys!

  8. Josee permalink
    May 23, 2013 12:32 pm

    OMG, look at all that hair! She is absolutely adorable. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

