Skip to content

Life as we know it

June 25, 2013

Iris 1

Iris 2

Iris 3

Iris 4

Iris 5

Iris 6

Iris 7

Iris 8

Iris 9

Iris 10

Iris 11

Iris 12

Iris is 7 weeks old. It sounds so long, yet so short all at the same time. How is that?

I have a tough time describing life with Iris, in a way that doesn’t sound cliche. She has changed everything about our lives. What time we wake up, where we go, what we bring, what seems important, etc and so forth. She’s the hardest job, and the easiest little face to kiss. I literally can’t stop taking pictures of her. I want to bottle up the smell of her sweet baby hair and sell it. She is changing by the minute, and starting to get rolls around her arms and legs, which look ridiculously delicious sticking out of her little summer clothes. Is it weird to describe your baby as delicious? Sometimes when I admire her toes, I want to eat them.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s hard. real hard. I’m tired, and my hair desperately needs to get “did”. All my non-maternity clothes suddenly seems very frumpy and sloppy. But I don’t want to focus on stuff like that on the blog. There are too many momma’s out there that would trade anything for a healthy, happy baby, so for that I want to remember to be thankful, especially in writing. I’ll save the complaining for my friends and family, when I see them in person 🙂

We are starting to get into more of a groove here. Honestly, the first 6 weeks have but mostly a merry-go-round of feedings, changing, and putting her to nap. Everyone told me the first 6ish weeks would be like that, but I still felt frustrated not being able to do all the things I was used to cramming in my day, including running and biking. But thanks to my family, I’ve been very slooooowly starting to run and bike again, and it feels soooo good. It’s nice to do the things that make me feel like ” me” again.

I was especially proud of myself for finally finishing her alphabet pillow! Bear in mind, I worked on the actual embroidery through the entire last trimester, and all I had left to do was sew the four side seams into a pillow case. I do’t want you to think I am some sort of crazy lady that can embroider an entire alphabet while taking care of a newborn. Hardly. The fabric was even cut out, and the pillow form was purchased. Still, I felt so accomplished finishing it! I used Aunt Martha’s iron on embroidery transfers. You know, the kind your grandma used to make day of the week dish towels? I spent waaaay too much time at the ironing board, pregnant belly in the way, arranging those letters. But in the end, the pillow turned out just as I’d hoped. I have a weakness for Alphabet items for a nursery. I’m not sure why, it is just to timeless.

Now I just need a knitting project to work on. Iris is in want of very little in the wardrobe department. We didn’t have a stitch of girl clothes until she was born, (since we didn’t know her gender ahead of time), but wouldn’t you know it, her  little closet puts mine to shame right now. And I’ve hardly bought any of it! What is more irresistible than baby girl clothes? Of course I could knit something for myself, but being summer, there really is nothing made of wool that I need urgently. If you have any good project ideas, send them my way!

Happy making, knitting, and/or baby snuggling.

Love, Devin

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2013 2:07 pm

    What a head of hair! She’s absolutely adorable!!! newborns are so precious.
    Yes, the first 6 to 8 weeks are the hardest but slowly you’ll come out of the “blur”. Glad you guys are enjoying parenthood!

  2. Shay permalink
    June 25, 2013 5:04 pm

    My daughter’s closet still puts mine to shame, 2 years later! She is a doll, Devin, and I am so glad you have been richly blessed by her life (the hard stuff and all – I get it!). Love to you as you navigate this new phase of life!

  3. Mel Hargens permalink
    June 25, 2013 8:30 pm

    I love that baby and that pillow! I hope to get to meet this little angel some day!

  4. Scott permalink
    June 26, 2013 8:33 pm

    That is one adorable little pumpkin!!! So happy for you guys!

  5. July 4, 2013 9:47 am

    WHAT A CUTIE!! I’m so stinkin’ happy for you guys…you look more complete now, with your little girl. 🙂 She was the twinkle in your eyes, and now she’s here! I can’t wait to meet her- I hope that can happen before too long! Good luck finding your groove, and be patient with yourselves…from what I hear, it’s not an easy process. I’ll have to get notes from you when it’s our turn. 😉

Leave a Reply

