Skip to content

A Sad Day

July 4, 2013

Image

Late last night we got a call from our vet, where our kitty Molly had just gotten emergency surgery. She had swallowed the rubber baby bottle nipple from one of Iris’ bottles and it was stuck. I never thought I’d ever give the OK to give a Cat surgery, but she was so young ( only 3 years old), and the surgery seemed very promising. When the vet called and said she was having trouble breathing that night in recovery, we rushed to the Animal Hospital with Iris, who, slept the whole time in her car seat carrier. The vets ( a sweet husband and wife team) tried everything they could to get her stable, but in between tears, and stories about all Molly’s brushes with her 9 lives, we decided it was best to let her go. I’ve never had to make that call before, and it was every bit as difficult as I imagined it would be. 

I find myself saying ” I know she’s just a cat”, but I’m not sure why I feel the need to apologize for feeling so sad. Maybe it’s that there are many worse things, like human family members lost, or wars and turmoil going on all around the world. Of course, there is always something worse.  But maybe that’s exactly why it hurts to bad to lose a pet. They are a simple, pure, escape from all that is wrong with the world. Their needs are usually quite simple. Food, shelter, and attention are really all they ask. As any animal lover can attest to, they give so much more in return. I swear I heard the sound of her cleaning her paws this morning, at the foot of the bed. All the little sounds and rhythms of Molly that were so intertwined in our daily lives, I didn’t even realize. You were so naughty Molly, but the best Cat. A really good cat. We miss you.

Image

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacquie krauskopf permalink
    July 4, 2013 9:29 am

    She was a beautiful baby. Last winter we lost our 9 month old Basset hound puppy that chewed on an electrical cord. We all still miss her greatly.
    (((Hugs))) to you and your family.

  2. Marianne permalink
    July 4, 2013 9:37 am

    It is hard to have to say goodbye to a pet, I just had to let my Mandi go a couple of months ago, I still hear her barking for a treat now and then. Just know you gave her a good home and lots of love and took care of her needs when she needed you the most. I’m sure she had a host of friends waiting for her at the Rainbow Bridge. Take care and let the tears flow, for awhile, another pet will find it’s way into your heart and home again I’m sure!

  3. July 4, 2013 9:43 am

    Oh, my heart is breaking for you guys…So very sorry for the loss of your sweet kitty. I hope you can find peace in knowing you gave her a good home and a good life. Tell stories about her to Iris when she gets bigger so that she can remember Molly, too. My family has kept the memories of all our passed-on pets alive all these years by telling their stories over and over, and it really seems like their spirits are still around, quietly watching and protecting the people they gave all their devotion and loyalty to while alive. ❤

  4. jennifer gori permalink
    July 4, 2013 9:50 am

    so sad my heart really breaks for you guys. I know how hard it was for us to loose Buddy. We cried for days.

  5. Lori Madden permalink
    July 4, 2013 10:40 am

    Sorry you guys, they are part of our family, it is always a sad time. Sorry for your loss,

  6. Judy Willis permalink
    July 4, 2013 11:34 am

    Our sympathy in the loss of your beloved Molly.

  7. July 5, 2013 12:02 am

    Aww, sorry for your loss!

  8. July 5, 2013 1:21 pm

    Oh no! It’s so sad to loose a pet!

Leave a Reply

