Skip to content

The last year in review, and the Etsy shop

April 14, 2015

DSC_0024 DSC_0416 DSC_0527 DSC_0532 DSC_0534 DSC_0552 DSC_0559
So sorry for such long radio silence. We are still here, and witnessing our little baby become a toddler! I think it was just before Iris’ first birthday that I last updated! So much has happened in a year! This parenthood thing, I just can’t quite find the words to describe it. It’s exhausting, and exhilarating all at the same time. Sometimes I just look at her big brown eyes, and still can’t believe she’s mine, ours. I tuck her in at night, so glad that my working hours have come to a close for the day, and immediately want to go check on her, and make sure she is covered up. Does that desire to cover one’s sleeping child with a blanket ever go away? I can’t imagine that ever happening. Even Iris does it with her stuffed animals and dolls. She will go around the house, placing burp rags, kleenex, anything resembling a blanket, on top of all her little babies.
She is so fun.  The more she is talking and comprehending, she seems like my little sidekick. We have conversations. I explain what we will do and see in the day, and she understands, and adds her own thoughts about it. She has opinions. LOTS of opinions. She has caught on to a lot of things that Mark and I do. Our hobbies and activities. The other day, she picked up a button in one hand, a cable knitting tool in the other, and started mashing them together over and over, saying ” Mama, I knitting! Mama, I knitting!”. I love her pretending, and imitating. I know that this is not unique to my child, but seeing her mind gather and construct her very own view of the world, is pure joy.
Her Papa built her a custom kitchen for Christmas. I really can’t get over how special I think it is. We are very spoiled to have both our families close, and we get to see them both almost every week.
Speaking of hand made items, I made another batch of things for the shop! I made more knitting needle cases, and a few little bibs, that can be found on my shop page here. Hoping to add some other fun things to the shop. Feels good to be sewing again though. Check it out!
DSC_0631 DSC_0605

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

